Earlier quoted context omitted.
> I believe users should always be in control of their data Total control? Does the person who made this submission have the right to delete it even though by doing so they delete your data? Do other users have the right to delete your data? Total control for you means denying someone else the right to delete this conversation. Do other users have the right to redefine your data by changing the context surrounding it…
I agree that posts shouldn't be deleted. But should the user be able to anonymize his posts when he deletes his account? Such that the username 'JohnDoe' is replaced with 'DeletedUser20140405.42'. IMO that doesn't destroy the readability of the conversation.
Deleting a user will nuke the account itself, and assign all content owned by that account to an anonymous/deleted account.
The context is preserved and no-one else's data is affected, but we've removed all Googleable trace of the original account (the username and profile).
The only remaining issue is whether a person made posts containing personal information (defined as being the same as personal data according to EU Data Protection laws... name, phone number, email, etc). But for that we'll always honour take-down requests even when the information is orphaned from an ownership record.
PS: To the downvoters, I'd love to understand what part is objectionable.