Never Trust Facebook
11–20 of 201 posts
Re: Never Trust Facebook
#12Earlier quoted context omitted.
Except that this isn't a bug. The user asked for the content to be deleted. For it to become public, they must have used a "delete" flag or something similar. The point is they didn't actually delete the content, rather just flag it as deleted.
Actually deleting content would be a very expensive operation at Facebook's scale. Flagging it as deleted is the most optimal way. What's troubling is that this content somehow got undeleted on its own. Not once, but twice.
Re: Never Trust Facebook
#13Re: Never Trust Facebook
#14They couldn't possibly manage the data if you could remove pieces, since everything on facebook is intertwined (likes, comments, shares, etc).
aka this doesn't surprise me.
Re: Never Trust Facebook
#15[deleted]
Re: Never Trust Facebook
#16Clearly they have a bug, but as far as actually deleting your data; I am willing to be it'll never be deleted. They couldn't possibly manage the data if you could remove pieces, since everything on facebook is intertwined (likes, comments, shares, etc). aka this doesn't surprise me.
A few days ago I made a brand new account (but using the same email as before) and was greeted with the suggestion to add ALL of my old friends right back again.
Clearly nothing has been deleted, and I now feel confirmed that it never, ever will be.
Re: Never Trust Facebook
#17Re: Never Trust Facebook
#18I understand this is not good. I do. But I'm surprised people think entity like Facebook, Google and any other web businesses delete records permanently. It's not worth it on so many level: - People that actually want to retrieve their stuff, - It's harder to implement a full delete than it is to add a flag, - They would have to give up on data-mining assets. I don't endorse, but I understand.
Re: Never Trust Facebook
#19Earlier quoted context omitted.
Except that this isn't a bug. The user asked for the content to be deleted. For it to become public, they must have used a "delete" flag or something similar. The point is they didn't actually delete the content, rather just flag it as deleted.
Actually deleting content would be a very expensive operation at Facebook's scale. Flagging it as deleted is the most optimal way. What's troubling is that this content somehow got undeleted on its own. Not once, but twice.
Re: Never Trust Facebook
#20I'll give you a little advice that's been working wonderfully for me so far - don't ever post something that is politically/ethnically/whatever questionable and you'll be fine. Even better than that, it'll play in your favour.
(This may be a good thing.)