When things like this happen, is it any wonder an increasing number of users are viewing any sort of "updates" with extreme apprehension? "It was working fine just before, and now I've lost everything. Why should I have even updated!?!?" I still remember when the general advice was "do not upgrade/change what works, unless you need something in a later version", which then changed to "updates are recommended", follow…
> "updates are recommended", followed by "updates are strongly recommended", and more recently, "updates are mandatory". This is 5 years old, today we are doing: Updates happen in background automatically without user knowing and sometimes when autoupdated software is being used at the time, it crashes when new action is performed and all not saved user data is lost. Move fast, break things!
This is exactly why power users dislike SNAP.
Give us the ability to choose if/how/when to install updates. Period.