This is an awesome change! In case anyone else was wondering, here's what you lose by cancelling: You are downgrading to GitHub Free After April 15, 2020, ... features and limits will change: Protected branches in private repos Draft PRs in private repos GitHub Pages in private repos (using 1) Wikis in private repos Code owners in private repos Multiple issue assignees in private repos Multiple PR assignees in privat…
The only way I can think of is to have a bot be the only one with commit access, and to interact with the bot to do merging. But that seems pretty roundabout.