Earlier quoted context omitted.
Signal doesn't advertise a profile. It advertises a phone number - everything else is data you have locally. It will send a profile picture if you set one but that's it.
Does it advertise your username? If I don't have the name of the contact, will Signal share my username or does it just say "this number in your list has joined signal, and here is their profile?"
- the person is in your own contact list
- you create a conversation with them
- you accept a conversation from them
see: https://support.signal.org/hc/en-us/articles/360007459591