Earlier quoted context omitted.
If you stay within the Apple ecosystem, 1Password is great. If you stray outside of that bubble, not so great. Their Android app sucks (quit putting an icon in my system bar every time I open the app, for starters), and the Windows version isn't so hot, either. Yeah, it's pricey, but in the end I think it's worth the aggravation and time it saves me.
I heard that you have to do this in order to not get killed when inactive.
The notification says it's synchronizing with my chosen cloud provider, maybe it doesn't want to get inadvertently killed during that process. Okay, fair enough. But can't the notification be removed after it's done? (An honest, if rhetorical question; don't know enough about Android to say for sure.) I have enough special snowflake apps sticking their crap in the notification bar, one less would be nice.