In order of likelihood: * Defaced site, timed to screw up a big announcement * Rogue content maintainer * Phase II of audit turned up something rather bad (edit: NO - see tptacek below) edit: Variations on "developer forced to do this" (cf simmerian's comment): * Developer was big brother all along and they are shutting it down * Security vuln about to be disclosed, dev scrambles to inform (albeit poorly) * Legally o…
Also might be coming from lack of donations. I remember that button becoming more and more prominent lately...
I concur -- likely an elaborate website deface.