Live data from Hacker News

Can I delete my Skype account?

support.skype.com

11–20 of 81 posts

Re: Can I delete my Skype account?

#13

I recently deleted my Linkedin account. But their junk emails continue to dirty my email even now. Next in the line is Skype, and then probably Facebook. Thankfully, I never shared my genuine data with Facebook or opened an a/c on Instagram or Whatsapp ever so I'm good at a certain level when it comes to Facebook. In my opinion Twitter is the only option that is sane at the moment.

I briefly enabled Google+ for one of my accounts. It has been disabled since at least 6+ months.

My colleagues are still getting emails that seem to be coming from me about sharing stuff on Google+.

Re: Can I delete my Skype account?

#14
The question I'm more interested in is why a sane delete option isn't built into the service. On the other hand, it's at least clear that your account exists forever, although it would be better if people were aware of that during sign up. Twitter claims to have deleted my account, but I cannot verify it.

As a side note, amazon affiliate accounts are equally bad.

Re: Can I delete my Skype account?

#16

This is completely insane. How can a company with so many developers think this is anything other than completely unacceptable.

I think they find it acceptable because, well, people seem to be accepting it. The majority doesn't seem to be interested in deleting any accounts but simply abandon them. I do wonder why Microsoft/Skype prefers accounts not be deleted, though? Message history perhaps? When designing databases, this is a matter that's important: do you delete objects or do you flag them deleted to prevent holes in the related data? Obviously I've no idea if that's what is going on at all, but who knows. :)

Re: Can I delete my Skype account?

#19

Maybe this is because of the way they store the data. It might be an expensive query (in their case) to search all contact lists with your skypeID, and remove it.

That just means, that they are too lazy to implement a delete queue or something. What's more likely is, that they audit and persist profile changes to gather data even if you "deleted" your account.
Post reply on HN