I've seen the TRIM recommendation pop up a few times, and never with a reply from DO - is this probably how they're going to handle this, or is there a possible reason for not using TRIM?
TRIM is equivalent to 'mark as free'. there's no guarantee it will zero the data, and whether it is zero'd depends on the manufacturer/model of the drive. If that's how they implement it, then I look forward to reading their future security advisory.
DigitalOcean - Transparency Regarding Data Security
11–17 of 17 posts
Re: DigitalOcean - Transparency Regarding Data Security
#12Earlier quoted context omitted.
A lot of the talk was theoretical and the examples run were I think all within a user's own space. If not though, then you're absolutely right that those are contradictory. If, even during disclosure, one user's data was made available to another user, that constitutes a data leak.
https://github.com/fog/fog/issues/2525 https://f.cloud.github.com/assets/408977/1820859/8658298e-71... These are some of the strings I pulled off the root blockdev - I have no such /var/deploy/chegou, or any of these files. I was able to recover someone else's webserver logs from yesterday, as well.
The blog post is factually incorrect on that point, what a shame.
Re: DigitalOcean - Transparency Regarding Data Security
#13Earlier quoted context omitted.
https://github.com/fog/fog/issues/2525 https://f.cloud.github.com/assets/408977/1820859/8658298e-71... These are some of the strings I pulled off the root blockdev - I have no such /var/deploy/chegou, or any of these files. I was able to recover someone else's webserver logs from yesterday, as well.
Yep, in that case that's absolutely a leak of user data. The blog post is factually incorrect on that point, what a shame.
Re: DigitalOcean - Transparency Regarding Data Security
#14What is a "clean system", if not a scrubbed one? And if they're scrubbing during create, why leave the scrub option in during destroy? I have to assume that when they say "clean system" they don't mean a scrubbed one, and that worries me.
If, as they said, their reason for not scrubbing is because of customers creating and destroying a lot of volumes during the onboarding process, then it seems to me the best solution is one that I believe was suggested in the previous thread. Namely, scrub a volume always whenever it's being used by a new customer. But if the volume is being reused by the same customer, don't bother scrubbing (unless requested), as presumably there are no concerns about leaking information from a user back to the same user.
Re: DigitalOcean - Transparency Regarding Data Security
#15Re: DigitalOcean - Transparency Regarding Data Security
#16And they forgot to add a date on their security updates. How are you supposed to know when issues are discovered and subsequently addressed?