It tells me I can lose history, but this is a revision control system, surely they don't mean I can actually lose history?
Sorry, but why did you think that they said that except to tell you that you could actually lose history? You ignored the rest of the error message and used --force. And then you were surprised that what the error message told you actually came to pass?