This has been around since 2011 when WebGL shipped. It's documented in the spec. It's a self correcting problem. You go to a site, it freezes your machine, you never visit the site again. No data is stolen, no privacy is lost. All that happens is the perp loses any audience. Turning off WebGL = no more Figma, no more Canva, no more Google Maps. A few self correcting sites seem acceptable. Evidence, it's been 15 years…
You haven't heard about rickrolling, have you?