So people genuinely believe that toggling that "Improve the model for everyone" button makes their data safe from being used for training? How do people become that trusting? The phrasing itself is guilt tripping
From their docs[1] (archive copy is at [2]):
> You can opt out of training through our privacy portal by clicking on “do not train on my content.” To turn off training for your ChatGPT conversations and Codex tasks, follow the instructions in our Data Controls FAQ. Once you opt out, new conversations will not be used to train our models.
> For a linked teen account, a parent or guardian may manage whether conversations can be used to improve our models through Parental controls.
> Even if you have opted out of training, you can still choose to provide feedback to us about your interactions with our products (for instance, by selecting thumbs up or thumbs down on a model response). If you choose to provide feedback, the entire conversation associated with that feedback may be used to train our models.
[1] https://help.openai.com/en/articles/5722486-how-your-data-is...
[2] https://web.archive.org/web/20260910151242/https://help.open...