Earlier quoted context omitted.
It might be a mistake but not a serious one, like it's a common setting they had on for convenience of development without being too insecure, but forgot to leave it out of public release. So there's nothing weird. It being on originally was intentional and not crazy. Only it going all they way wasn't.
> but forgot to leave it out of public release. They didn't forget. They never knew it was there. https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=49502099
That's just stupid speculation.
Overly active analytics / tracing stuff is not uncommon during dev. Likely they just did it to be able to debug things better in the weirdest cases; doing a full session replay basically when you have the whole original state of the repo