Live data from Hacker News

JupyterGIS breaks through to the next level

eo4society.esa.int

31–32 of 32 posts

Re: JupyterGIS breaks through to the next level

#31
post #13

Earlier quoted context omitted.

Ok, you link to a deployment, and also the docs say this: > Collaborative GIS Environment: Work together on geographic data projects in real-time. How does that work? I can apparently make changes to the files, and even save them, but then my changes are gone when I reload it. Where were the changes saved? This is exactly what I'm wary of when using Jupyter...

> How does that work? I can apparently make changes to the files, and even save them, but then my changes are gone when I reload it. Where were the changes saved? This is exactly what I'm wary of when using Jupyter... The GP linked to JupyterLite, which is browser-based Jupyter based on WebAssembly... Then there is JupyterLab which runs on your own machine, or on a server somewhere (e.g. a K8S pod)... And then there…

I don't know! They said "collaborative" and they provided a link. I tried making some changes to test the collaboration and clicked the "save" button. It changed the "last changed" to "now" and upon reload my changes were gone.

It lied to me: my changes weren't saved! If I can't save a thing, I want to be explicitly told so!

Re: JupyterGIS breaks through to the next level

#32
post #31

Earlier quoted context omitted.

> How does that work? I can apparently make changes to the files, and even save them, but then my changes are gone when I reload it. Where were the changes saved? This is exactly what I'm wary of when using Jupyter... The GP linked to JupyterLite, which is browser-based Jupyter based on WebAssembly... Then there is JupyterLab which runs on your own machine, or on a server somewhere (e.g. a K8S pod)... And then there…

I don't know! They said "collaborative" and they provided a link. I tried making some changes to test the collaboration and clicked the "save" button. It changed the "last changed" to "now" and upon reload my changes were gone. It lied to me: my changes weren't saved! If I can't save a thing, I want to be explicitly told so!

I’m pretty sure it saves it using browser storage APIs… so rather than it lying to you, it could be your browser (or some extension even) lying to it
Post reply on HN