Earlier quoted context omitted.
It’s just yet another thing Apple gets right: why would the default be to NOT keep what you just put into the computer?
> why would the default be to NOT keep what you just put into the computer? Because you didn't ask it to save and closed the app?
To address another commenter's point about word overwriting: auto saves should only go into a temp/separate file so as to never supersede manual saves.