[flagged]
> everyone who has ever submitted to Hacker News gets to see this banner on our website until they clear their browser history and stop contributing to HN Wow, that is even more insane. They are actively going to show an ugly banner, to every user they can determine has contributed to HN, telling them to stop contributing to HN? Does your Linux distro actively try and push you into specific social media patterns?? Me…
I've also never seen that from an OS maintainer. I've only seen that in small semi-private forums that are trying to stay somewhat below the radar and even then it is rather silly. Those sites should just make themselves private, password protected and invite-only. OS distributions should be welcoming and inclusive for all assuming they care at all about adoption of their work