Earlier quoted context omitted.
This doesn’t make any sense to me. My private forks are * mine* and I most certainly do not want GitHub guessing at whether and when to permanently delete them without my consent. Companies of course have the right to manage access to their proprietary source code, for example by only giving access to corporate accounts under their control and reclaiming those accounts when an employee leaves.
> My private forks are mine Not if you create them using the "Fork" button in the UI. Since this behavior has yet again surprised many people, here is the documentation: https://docs.github.com/en/pull-requests/collaborating-with-...
If a private repository is made public, each of its private forks is turned into a standalone private repository and becomes the upstream of its own new repository network. Private forks are never automatically made public because they could contain sensitive commits that shouldn't be exposed publicly.
If a private repository is made public and then deleted, its private forks will continue to exist as standalone private repositories in separate networks.
But I agree this is confusing.