This unfortunately makes sense because it is a private repo. Even if a repo is labeled as being MIT and has an MIT license in it, it still may contain other code of a different license. Github could do better by warning the repo owner when they delete a private repo. Github could ask the repo owner if they want to convert it to public first (a "set it free" option) or otherwise give the option to avoid deleting the f…
GitHub is not supposed to make such decisions for the user here. It is user's responsibility to make sure they delete their private forks if they shouldn't have access to the repo/fork anymore. What's next? Should we all install spyware on our computers and let GitHub automatically delete local copies of forks as well? GitHub and the company/person, who deleted the original private repo, should inform the owner of th…
First off is the fact that forking a repo is often a necessary step in contributing to project if you don't have push permission, so these forks will be created during the normal development processes, not necessarily because the employee was intentionally trying to save off their own copy. So it is perfectly normal for the employer to consider those forks to be something it should own and manage, just like it would on an on-premise installation.
On the otherhand, github still encourages people to use a single account for both personal use and work[1]. Naturally the employees reasonably consider all the forks that are in their personal account to be something that they should own and manage. So you end up with situtations like this.
The lesson - mixing work and personal accounts/computers/devices is a horrible idea regardless of what Github says. Employers shouldn't allow it, and employees should avoid it even if allowed. Then both will have a clear idea of who owns and controls what.
[1] https://docs.github.com/en/get-started/learning-about-github...