Earlier quoted context omitted.
I had no idea installing Dropbox meant they were modifying the Finder. Why isn't there an option to disable this?
Note that they are injecting code into the running Finder process, which is very different from patching the Finder binary. That would be very bad.
[1] Of course excluding programs that have an actual plugin interface, and the "patching" just constitutes using that interface.