Earlier quoted context omitted.
The problem is the automatic "merge" of Picasa Web with Google+. If I mark an album as private in Picasa Web, I wouldn't expect anything to be shared. Especially if I would have been doing this for years. This violates the principle of least astonishment, at the very least.
I think it does make some intuitive sense (even if there is confusing messaging on this). If i tag someone in a picture, then clearly they should be able to see that picture (i mean they were there when it was taken so there should be no problem with that). Extending this to the album level makes some sense because presumably everything in an album is related to a particular event (so that person who was tagged would…
I don't agree with letting them see the whole album by default. Albums aren't necessarily associated with an event. If you have an album called "Family", you might want to let your buddy see the pictures of the family barbecue he attended, without necessarily sharing the picture of your wife breastfeeding.