I don't understand. What they are describing sounds like Chrome syncing. But you can certainly install Google Drive's sync client without using Chrome/Chrome syncing. Is this a new thing?
They must have signed into Chrome, but Chrome will explicitly tell the user if their data will be accessible to the GSuite administrator[0] so this is likely on them for not fully reading this popup or forgetting about it. 0: https://judge.sh/YILh0ozLX5.png
It does not address what pressing "link data" will _actually_ do and what pressing "cancel" will _actually_ do.