This didn't happen to me and I'd like to think I'm being objective here - the dialog says:
> Are you sure you wish to discard ALL changes? This is IRREVERSIBLE!
Yes, very scary, like many warnings that some systems teach us to ignore.
It doesn't say what "changes" will be discarded. Are those the changes it made since the IDE was installed? Did the IDE make changes? Some kind of project files or directories? Some kind of setup? Is a novice supposed to know this?
Even on the home-grown IDE I use at work, it saves backups in a trash area when you delete files in case you accidentally delete something you don't intend to. (Actually, I got very concerned once thinking I had deleted something I hadn't committed yet... as I recall it was a false alarm, but I was pleased that my concern was misplaced.)
And given that a lot of other people have experienced this, I'd say there is evidence that this is a UX (User eXperience) problem, not necessarily a PEBCAK (Problem Exists Between Chair and Keyboard):
https://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/expression/en-US/b3...