FB did steal the web and your social network. Remember how FB grew? If not, let me remind you: "See which of your friends are also on FB! Just give us your Google and Yahoo contacts". Yes, you gave FB permission to check your contacts, but FB omitted to tell us that they would be HOLDING ON to your contacts forever and ever. FB then sent those contacts, without your permission and not per your request, an email sayin…
Similarly, there's a page for messenger too (with the tip that you can turn off continuous uploading): https://www.facebook.com/mobile/messenger/contacts/