Earlier quoted context omitted.
I am not sure it's the same, as far as I was aware Google photos never deletes the local copy.
On the phone, "freeup device storage" is an option that is prompted (and sounds like a wonderful idea)... whereby the phone copy is purged if the original file has already been "backed up" to Google. It isn't possible to restore the backup.
That's hardly comparable to Apple deleting things automatically, silently, with neither warning nor confirmation.
[0] http://www.androidpolice.com/wp-content/themes/ap2/ap_resize...