My WhatsApp Security code changed, with no login or logout
1–10 of 29 posts
Re: My WhatsApp Security code changed, with no login or logout
#2Re: My WhatsApp Security code changed, with no login or logout
#3Re: My WhatsApp Security code changed, with no login or logout
#4Re: My WhatsApp Security code changed, with no login or logout
#5Re: My WhatsApp Security code changed, with no login or logout
#6I believe that this has something to do with the new WhatsApp Desktop beta for multi-device. Every time I log in with a new device, I see the "security code changed" message.
It's a bit annoying because it undermines the value of the security notification. People get used to it (the boy that cried wolf). I used to get people asking if things were ok if I moved to a new device. This won't happen anymore when people get ten of these a day
Re: My WhatsApp Security code changed, with no login or logout
#7I doubt it was nefarious. Anyone know why something like this would happen? Is there some internal calibration going on or maybe a bug? I disabled WhatsApp's camera permission immediately afterwards.
Re: My WhatsApp Security code changed, with no login or logout
#8Not directly related to the article, but the other day I saw the "camera in use" indicator in the Android status bar while WhatsApp was open. The camera usage history showed it was being used by WhatsApp at the time (not another app), but I wasn't making use of any feature that required a camera at that time (browsing contacts). I doubt it was nefarious. Anyone know why something like this would happen? Is there some…
Re: My WhatsApp Security code changed, with no login or logout
#9I had this when enabling the new web experience beta. Maybe they enabled it for everyone (or for a big enough group of users)?
Re: My WhatsApp Security code changed, with no login or logout
#10Not directly related to the article, but the other day I saw the "camera in use" indicator in the Android status bar while WhatsApp was open. The camera usage history showed it was being used by WhatsApp at the time (not another app), but I wasn't making use of any feature that required a camera at that time (browsing contacts). I doubt it was nefarious. Anyone know why something like this would happen? Is there some…
Given they're a Facebook company, I'm not sure why you'd doubt it was nefarious