Earlier quoted context omitted.
There's nothing better than knowing everything and never having to play around with settings to discover what they do, never forgetting what you've set your settings to, and not having children, family members, or friends do the same. There's no way any reasonable person could ever have their uploads accidentally turned on without their full knowledge and consent so that definitely invalidates any reason to argue aga…
With server side scanning, if someone accidentally enables uploading you are in exactly the same position. It being enabled on upload, which side it runs changes nothing in all the scenarios you are sarcastically ranting about.
You're wrong because at the very minimum it means that my device's battery isn't consumed for the scanning.
Further, enabling uploading won't work if the cloud account is full (as is currently the case).
Turning off connectivity prevents the upload and scanning from occurring.