Earlier quoted context omitted.
Changing the default behavior for all of your users with no notification is pretty unforgivable. Even if this feature worked correctly, it obviously doesn’t, this should at minimum be a prompt after upgrade to let the user confirm that this is what they want. But honestly should be opt in for those that want it. To have it silently just start adding marketing copy to git commit messages is pretty bad. To have that ad…
Well, the good news is commit messages are some of the most visible thing, and there are no silent modifications that are really possible. The bad news is - where else have this happened in VS Code? - A happy user of (n)vim
The problem is that it's only visible after committing, it doesn't seem to show in the integrated git view when you prepare the commit.