Back in the early 90's I had 2 terminals up on my X windows console. One for local dev and another for a production server running a trading system for around 50 users. Naturally for production I was logged in as root. I typed rm -rf to clear out my dev folder only to figure out I just deleted the root folder and all sub folders on a production machine. I recalled a piece of advice a university friend had given me. "…
No idea if anything would have happened, most of the data was read only (builds, logs, etc) but some was not.