Earlier quoted context omitted.
Could you provide more details?
On delete of VMs, the next user to be allocated disk would be able to read your data. There was a "scrub" feature that would bill you longer/extra to zeroize your data and not give it to the next customer. Apparently they hadn't heard of TRIM or thin provisioning. https://github.com/fog/fog/issues/2525 https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=6983097 https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=6983520
This issue is the reason why I will never use DO or recommend it to a customer.