So if I'm understanding correctly, all the classic instances were migrated to more modern types with no intervention from the account holder? Did they suffer a reboot during that migration, or was it done via some live-migration process (it's hard to live-migrate off a virtualization platform that was never designed with that in mind!). What about the original network setup? Is that still emulated, or might some cust…
The had to be restarted, but not only that, has to have their networks reconfigured. But they gave people YEARS to do that, and tracked down every user to help them if necessary.
I don't see why every user couldn't be auto-created a virtual network with the same 10.x.x.x IP addresses as their original machine had - and therefore there is no need to do any reconfiguration on the users side.