We know that HN is visited by a fair share of Facebook employees. Can some of you weigh in (anonymously?) on this topic? Do you guys do hard deletes of user data instead of just soft deletes? If so, are logs or backups kept? For how long? In other words: if I'm a user of $POPULAR_SERVICE and I delete my account at time t0, is there a t1 > t0 after which every trace of my data is gone from the platform? My (cynical) g…
My understanding is that deletion is a hard problem with entire teams working on it (imagine how many different random systems data flows to...) but that yes, the intended behavior is for deleted data to really be gone after 30 days. This is necessary to comply with GDPR and various other laws.
Of course, if two people each own a copy of a piece of data (for example, messages person A sent to person B), then person A deleting their copy won’t affect person B’s copy (just like how emails work).
Contrary to popular belief, Facebook doesn’t actually have anything to gain from nefariously storing data you delete. Ad targeting has plenty of non-deleted data to train on; Facebook has no incentive to break the law to keep tiny amounts of dubiously useful extra data on the margins. I’m almost certain the issue described here was genuinely a bug.