Google already does this anytime I clear my cookies. Why would they allow someone using the service if they didn't get something back?
I never accepted the change in the expectation that everything will now be ad supported. That's a fundamental, massive shift. You can still say no that imposition, it's not actually baked into any of the technology, just a bunch of bloat glued on afterwards.