I get all the privacy concerns, but this was actually super useful for people who opted-in. Manually retyping everybody's name when tagging them in 50 photos from an event is torturous.
Who opted in? I certainly don't remember ever doing it, yet auto tagging has always worked for me (both when I am tagging pictures and when others are tagging me).
It was one of those "by continuing to use our service(s), you are opting-in" t&C's updates.
So in short: nobody did but legally there is a box ticked.