Earlier quoted context omitted.
Click on the ? at the bottom right, then select Return to old Google maps lastly click on the classic yellow ribbon which appears at the top asking to remember your preference. 6 more months of classic maps then they will probably phase it out, sadly.
Is there a way to switch to classic view permanently? Every time I start Google Maps again - it starts with crippled version. Update: I just noticed that after switching to Classic, Google Maps is asking me if I want to remember that choice permanently. The question is not prominent enough though.
For example, if you enable delay e-mail send in gMail, you get a tiny pop-up to undo your message... I guess you just have to learn to always look at the top middle for Google's hidden/minimally displayed functions.