If someone has a Drive desktop client installed, has two source-code directories with some identical files in them, and modifies one of the identical files in just one of the directories, I can imagine they'd be very surprised when the other copy in the untouched directory also changes. I'm on Linux where there's no official Drive client, so this won't happen to me. (I use Syncthing instead.)
I'm on Linux with Syncdocs for syncing Google Drive so will wait and see how it handles things.