Hey guys - Dropbox product manager here, tl;dr: The scenario described by the OP is now less likely to occur. Since October, individual Dropbox users are encouraged to create separate accounts when invited to a Team and warned that Teams admins will have control over the account. We want individual and Team Dropbox users to have the best possible experience. Some users want to migrate their personal accounts into a T…
> Disabled accounts are not immediately deleted: We can work with Teams admins and users to sort out account issues and recover users’ files. Wait a sec, does this mean when I delete my files they are ... not being deleted? > We’ve contacted the OP to help resolve his case and are sorry for any pain this caused! Great, good for him. So basically next time when I or others have problems with Dropbox, post a rant about…
This is true of almost every service on the internet. If it wasn't, whenever the only disk that had your account on it failed you would be absolutely livid about the fact that they never made any backups. (It is generally infeasible to purge backups of any deleted data, because they're stored in compressed blobs.)