Earlier quoted context omitted.
Yes. If you don’t verify, every conversation is empty.
But it also asks for recovery key and complains about it being out of sync until entered even if you do the verification step! Entirely possible to only get a partial recovery of messages until this is entered.
one method of verification suffices (be it recovery key or using a different device)