In a lot of cases apps don't delete your account, they just mark you deleted.
In some cases it's a performance thing. Instead of deleting the entire table with user X's info, they just flip a value in the deleted/disabled table column. If they really want to delete it they can run a batch job later.
Then again, it might have as much to do with reactivating accounts as it does with server performance.