I did not know they really had this as an option. I'm glad to hear it's available. I'd like to know how thorough they are with deleting you, however. With stories of "ghost" profiles that they build on individuals who don't have accounts (and/or are not logged in), I would be surprised if they actually delete everything they know about you.
I found the process easy to complete using the directions in the link. It was quite liberating to have my account deleted, actually. Don't miss it at all, although it left some friends and my mom scratching their heads.