How to lose your work using Undo Copy in Windows
1–10 of 110 posts
Re: How to lose your work using Undo Copy in Windows
#2How unfortunate. Windows should disable the Undo option as soon as the copied file is modified.
Re: How to lose your work using Undo Copy in Windows
#3Jetbrains IDEs have a "Local history" feature that is not well known. It watches local files and keeps a backup of previous versions of a file, independently from version control.
This has saved me from a few accidental unrecoverable changes.
git reflog is also your friend.
Re: How to lose your work using Undo Copy in Windows
#4The folder you copy your file (any file that has some importance to you) to should be a onedrive synced folder. Word/Excel/Powerpoint/... files you edit in a synced folder save automatically without the need for you to ctrl+s.
If you undo copy that file you will find it in your onedrive history.
Re: How to lose your work using Undo Copy in Windows
#5This happened to me once. I thought I was doing ctrl-Z inside of an app I had been using up to a few minutes earlier, but I hadn't realised that instead a File Explorer window that was currently highlighted.
Re: How to lose your work using Undo Copy in Windows
#6How unfortunate. Windows should disable the Undo option as soon as the copied file is modified.
Can confirm this is how macOS does it. They remove the file from the stack of Undo actions after it's been modified post-copy.
Re: How to lose your work using Undo Copy in Windows
#7A similar annoyance is the fact that excel's undo applies to all open excel files. Make a change in a.xls, make a change in b.xls. if you ctrl-z twice with b.xls focused, it'll undo both of the above changes!
This has bitten me more than once. Does anyone actually want this behavior?
Re: How to lose your work using Undo Copy in Windows
#8Did you check the c:\users\user\appdata\local\temp folder? Make sure to enable 'show hidden files'.
Re: How to lose your work using Undo Copy in Windows
#9One might argue that this feature should not even exist, since it does not add anything (except probems) on top of a normal "delete" which you can do anyway.
Edit: I think I got this wrong. Most likely, this is due to some "Undo " always being displayed.
Re: How to lose your work using Undo Copy in Windows
#10Not sure if it's the same issue, but undo (and redo) in Notepad was so frustratingly unstable. Maybe the fixed that already (my last Windows was the 8.1).